Understanding The Body’s Chakras: A Basic Overview

Understanding the body’s chakras is to understand the purpose of energy flow in and through the body. Your life is powered by energy. You exert energy. You absorb energy, and the ebb and flow of that energy is largely influenced by the proper alignment of the body’s chakras.

Chakra is a word coming from ancient Sanskrit, meaning wheel or disk. The body is said to have seven Chakras from base to crown. If all of your “wheels” are in alignment, the flow of your machine (your body) will be smooth.

There are numerous energy healing professions surrounding the alignment of your Chakras. A well-known energy healing practice that almost everyone has heard about is probably Reiki. A practice that originated in the East, Reiki healing, too, works on the body’s energy flow. An increasing number of people are starting to opt for ‘alternative’ therapies, and if this is something that interests you, there are many healers out there (such as Reikigalore.com) whom you can reach out to. But, it helps to first get a grasp on the roots of the practice. Here is a quick overview of the body’s seven Chakras, so you might begin your journey to enlightenment.

Root Chakra

Your root chakra starts at the base of your body, which is not necessarily your feet. Your root chakra begins at your coccyx bone. In layman’s terms, the coccyx is your tailbone.

The root chakra is linked to the element of earth, and strongly coincides with your basic survival needs. An malaligned root chakra can bring imbalance in life, destability, and a generally unsettled feeling.

Sacral Chakra

Your sacrum is a reference to your pelvic area. The space in between your pubic bone and your belly button is considered the location of your sacral chakra. Your sacral chakra is represented by the element of water and home to your sense of self. The sacral chakra affects a person’s creativity, sexuality, and overall general “spunk” for life.

Solar Plexus Chakra

It may be no surprise that the solar plexus chakra is associated with the element of fire. The solar plexus chakra is located at your belly button. Your internal drive to succeed at life is rooted in the solar plexus chakra.

Heart Chakra

Your heart sits in the center of your chest area, so it makes sense that the heart chakra makes its home in the same spot. Your inner emotions such as love, empathy, joy, compassion, and a sense of connection to others are all linked to your heart chakra. Air is the element of your heart chakra.

Throat Chakra

Your throat chakra governs your ability to communicate efficiently. The element of space partners with the throat chakra, and it is a place for purification, as the thyroid also resides in the throat chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

Right in the center of your forehead, your third eye chakra sits. It is thought to rule over the pituitary gland, brain, eyes, and skull. The alignment of your sixth chakra will lead to strong wisdom, comprehension, and creative imagination.

Crown Chakra

Your crown chakra is located at the apex of your head, and rules over your connection to a higher power/consciousness. An aligned crown chakra will result in a feeling of connection to everything.